With over 2,000 rosette restaurants rated by the AA's team of professional inspectors, awarded up to 5 Rosettes for quality, the AA Restaurant Guide is the food lover's guide to enjoying the best cuisine in Britain.

Although other restaurant guides may offer dine rewards, AA Restaurant Guide users can be confident they have a comprehensive and well inspected list of restaurants and chefs in their pocket.

What are the AA Awards?

There are three national AA Wine Awards, with over 100 notable wine list symbols awarded to the runners up. Other features include the AA Restaurant of the Year Awards for London, England, Scotland and Wales, and the Chef of the Year Award. Past winners of this award include Tom Kerridge, Nathan Outlaw and Daniel Clifford.  

When was the first the AA Restaurant Guide published?

The AA first started rating restaurants in 1955, when the first AA Rosettes were awarded. Since then the AA Restaurant Guide has remained one of the most well respected and comprehensive guides in the UK, awarding a significant number of restaurants in the UK and Ireland a coveted rosette.

What are the AA Hospitality Awards?

The AA also host the AA Hospitality Awards, attended by world-renowned chefs, prominent hoteliers and restaurateurs, hospitality gurus and key media, and with a celebrity host and entertainment. The AA Hospitality Awards is a highlight in the industry calendar and truly is a night to remember.

Over the course of the evening, the event recognises and rewards the excellent services provided by our very best establishments, in addition to acting as the initial high-profile launch of the latest editions of the AA’s range of lifestyle guides.

Guests are treated to a champagne reception followed by a sensational gourmet meal created by a high-profile chef, and receive a goody bag at the end of the event containing the AA Restaurant Guide.

Winners are selected in recognition of excellence and success within their award category, having shown a significant improvement within the preceding 12 to 18 months and proving their dedication to raising industry standards and enhancing both their guest and diner experiences.

What are the AA Hospitality Award catagories?

AA Hotel of the Year

AA Restaurant of the Year

 AA Wine Award

AA Pub of the Year

AA Hotel Group of the Year 

AA Eco Hotel and Eco Hotel Group of the Year

AA Food Service Award

AA Housekeeper of the Year Award

AA Spirit Award 

How many AA Restaurant Guide inspectors are there?

There are 30 full time inspectors who have all previously worked in the industry as head chefs, general managers, housekeepers – a huge variety of different positions. It’s essential they’ve been in the industry for at least four years and have the relevant qualifications. All inspectors are put through a stringent training programme by the AA which continues throughout their career.

Keep up to date every year with all the AA Restaurant Guide news including who has won AA Rosettes and which chefs and restaurants have won other AA Awards.